University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota
Global Programs and Strategy Alliance > China Center

Unit's home page.

Bai Chunli and Robert Bruininks

Congratulations Bai Chunli!

Dr. Bai Chunli, president of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and president of the Graduate University of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, was at the University of Minnesota campus April 29 to receive an honorary doctor of science degree.

The nomination for the honorary doctorate was submitted by the College of Science and Engineering (formally Institute of Technology) and the China Center and was based on his contributions to scientific research. Dr. Bai is a key architect of China’s nanotechnology development and “father” of China’s scanning tunneling microscopy.

In addition to his scientific accomplishments, Dr. Bai also has a strong relationship with the University of Minnesota. He has hosted several University of Minnesota presidential and deans delegations to China. He worked with Dean Steven Crouch of the College of Science and Engineering to hold a bilateral seminar series on Nanotechnology.

Following the conferral of the honorary doctorate, Dr. Bai attended a brief reception with students and they were thrilled to meet him. Many had questions for him and most wanted to take a picture. The China Center then hosted dinner at the University president’s residence, Eastcliff.

Bai Chunli is the ninth distinguished scholar from China—and the fourth from CAS—to receive an honorary doctorate from the University of Minnesota. He joins Dr. Y.S. Tsiang, Dr. Tang Peisong, Dr. Tu Guangchi, Dr. Wei Yu, Dr. Lou Chenghou, Dr. Jiang Zhenghua, Dr. Fai-nan Perng, and Dr. Lu Yongxiang in being awarded this high honor from the University.















白春禮博士不僅有突出的科研成就,他與明尼蘇達大學保持著緊密的聯繫。他先後接待過多個明尼蘇達大學校長和院長訪華代表團。他還與科學與工程學院院長Steven Crouch共同主持了中美雙邊納米技術系列講座。

在榮譽博士學位授予儀式結束之後,白春禮博士參加了一個簡短的學生見面會。同學們非常高興能有機會見到白春禮博士,紛紛向他提問並請求合影留念。隨後,中國中心在明尼蘇達大學校長官邸 Eastcliff 舉辦了慶祝晚宴。白春禮博士是獲得明大榮譽博士學位的第九位中國傑出學者和第四位中國科學院院士。其他獲此殊榮的還有蒋彥士博士、湯佩松博士、涂光熾博士、俞衛博士、婁成後博士、蔣正華博士、彭淮南博士、路甬祥博士。