• Posted on: Tuesday, May 18, 2021
    Professor Kumi Smith described her work at China’s National Center for AIDS, where she learned the highly politicized nature of HIV in China does not always translate into abundant resources for public health workers.
  • Posted on: Friday, April 16, 2021
    In a webinar on April 15, Ryan Hass, author of Stronger: Adapting America’s China Strategy in an Age of Competitive Interdependence, discussed the future of the U.S.-China relationship and the importance of the two powers finding...
  • Posted on: Wednesday, March 31, 2021
    Dr. Liu Yang, head of the Chinese, South, and Southeast Asian art department and curator of Chinese art at the Minneapolis Institute of Art (Mia), presented on the fascinating array of bronzes in Alfred Pillsbury’s...
  • Posted on: Friday, March 26, 2021
    Weiss discussed her new book project and explored how China’s governance and domestic politics shape its foreign policy. Weiss argues that the key themes of centrality and contestation shape China’s interests and investments...
  • Posted on: Thursday, March 11, 2021
    Can a social media competition help students in China and the U.S. relate to one another and promote sustainability? A team of four undergraduates thinks it can. For their winning entry to the China Bridge Challenge case competition,...
  • Posted on: Tuesday, March 2, 2021
    On Friday, February 19, 2021, teammates, coaches, and judges gathered virtually for the first ever China Bridge Challenge competition, with the theme of Building Sustainable Cities and Communities.
  • Posted on: Friday, February 5, 2021
    The University of Minnesota China Center thanks you for your continuous support and wishes you a prosperous new year. May the Year of the Ox bring good fortune and happiness to both you and your family!
  • Posted on: Monday, November 16, 2020
    On Thursday, November 12, more than 120 attendees gathered over livestream for the webinar, “Getting China Right: Challenges for the Next Administration.” Robert Daly, director of the Kissinger Institute on China and the United States...
  • Posted on: Thursday, October 29, 2020
    On Wednesday, October 28, 2020, more than 35 attendees gathered over livestream to watch a panel discussion on the documentary film First Vote. The discussion highlighted the important role that Asian American voters play as...