中国中心与明尼苏达大学其他相关部门为前往大中华地区旅行的明大教职工与学生提供丰富的相关信息与资源。

旅行的后勤保障

明尼苏达大学中国代表处

明尼苏达大学驻北京中国代表处为因与明大相关事务而赴华旅行的教职工提供咨询和有限服务。代表处有独立的工作空间,可为举办会议提供基本的办公室设施和房间。

护照和签证照片

申请护照或签证时,提供符合特定尺寸、颜色和构图要求的照片很重要。明尼苏达大学海外留学中心可提供护照照片,学生可享受优惠。

国际旅行诊所

明大Boyton校医院的国际旅行诊所是明尼苏达大学正式指定的旅游免疫中心。该诊所为大学和公众成员提供成人旅行保健咨询、免疫接种、国际疫苗接种证书以及其他与健康有关的旅游信息。

中国的网络问题

在中国使用网络可能会受到一定限制。有些明大学生和教职工在中国期间无法登录明大邮箱,甚至无法打开明大网站。如果您计划赴华旅行,请阅读明大技术建议

语言与文化

翻译服务

中国中心为明大教职员工和部门提供有限的翻译协助。

  • 明尼苏达大学与中国合作伙伴签订的校园协议:书面翻译服务包括与中方合作大学签订的法律合同和协议。请与明大法律顾问办公室(OGC)一起起草与海外合作大学的协议。中国中心可以为大中华地区的学术机构合作伙伴提供咨询和咨询服务。
  • 名片(英文译成中文):我们为教职员工免费提供名片。您收到一份可直接打印的文件,您可以提交给明大打印服务部自费打印。请提前7到10个工作日将英文名片的扫描副本(PDF格式)发送至chinactr@umn.edu

跨文化训练

明大中国中心与明大孔子学院合作,向校园各部门提供文化和语言培训,以弥合文化差异。主题包括中国基础文化、基本商务汉语和风俗习惯。请联系confucius@umn.edu了解更多。

国际学生和学者服务办公室提供一系列跨文化研讨会,以帮助员工提高文化自我意识,了解国际学生的贡献,并学习相关沟通技巧,从而改善与国际学生及教职工的交流和关系。

社区汉语课

明尼苏达大学孔子学院向公众提供汉语课程,分为从汉语入门到中文高级口语课等七个等级。孔子学院资料中心还收集了一系列关于旅游,中文学习和与中国有关的资料。另外,明大亚洲语言文学系提供可转换为明大学分的中文课程。

赴华旅行资助

中国中心奖学金与交换项目

中国中心提供一系列奖学金和交流机会,支持明大学生前往大中华地区留学或进行其他教育活动。

国际旅行补助金

国际项目与规划部为教授和非教职工作人员提供国际旅行补助金,以支持与研究、会议或项目初始阶段相关的旅行。

孔子学院奖学金

孔子学院奖学金项目由汉办/孔子学院总部设立,旨在鼓励世界各地的学生和汉语教师学习汉语或进行中国语言文化研究。 明尼苏达州的申请人需通过明大孔子学院进行推荐。

健康和安全

学生国际旅行登记处

学生、研究生助理、住院医师和研究员必须通过学生国际旅行登记处登记旅行,这将有助于完成以下要求:

教职工国际旅行登记处

明大要求所有教职员工登记与明大有关的国际差旅。教职员工还可以选择明大许可的国际旅游,健康和安全保险(如果教职员工与学生一起出行,则必须购买此保险)。

The China Center and other units on campus provide a wealth of information and resources to support travel to China and the Greater China region by University faculty, staff, and students.

Travel Logistics

U of M China Office

The University's China Office in Beijing can provide advice and limited services to faculty and staff traveling to China on University business. The office also has individual workspace available with basic office amenities and rooms to host meetings.

Passport and Visa Photos

When applying for a passport or visa, it is important to provide photos that fit the specific size, color, and composition requirements. The University's Learning Abroad Center offers passport photos at a discount for students.

International Travel Clinic

The International Travel Clinic at the University's Boynton Health Center is an officially designated travel immunization center of the University of Minnesota. The clinic provides adult travel consultations, immunizations, International Certificates of Vaccination, and other health-related travel information for members of the University and the general public. 

Technology Issues in China

Accessing and using technology when in China can be challenging. Some University of Minnesota students, staff, and faculty have been unable to access their UMN email and even some University websites while in China. Review the University's technology recommendations for anyone traveling to China.

Language and Culture

Translation Services

The China Center provides limited translation assistance for University faculty, staff, and departments. 

  • University Agreements with Chinese Partners: Written translation service includes U of M legal contracts and agreements with Chinese partner universities. Please work with the Office of the General Counsel (OGC) to draft your agreements with overseas partner universities. The China Center can provide advice and counsel on selecting and working with academic and institutional partners in the Greater China region.
  • Business Cards (English to Chinese): Free of charge for U of M business cards for faculty and staff. You will receive a printer-ready file that you can submit to the University's Printing Services for printing at your own expense. Please email a scanned (PDF) copy of your English business card to chinactr@umn.edu.

Intercultural Training

The University of Minnesota China Center partners with the Confucius Institute at the University of Minnesota to provide culture and language instruction to departments to bridge the cultural gap. Topics include Basic Chinese cultural training, Basic Business Chinese, and custom options. Contact confucius@umn.edu to learn more.

International Student and Scholar Services offers a range of intercultural workshops to help staff members gain greater cultural self-awareness, an understanding of the contributions of international students, and communication skills to improve interactions and relationships with international students, staff, and faculty.

Community Chinese Language Classes

The Confucius Institute at the University of Minnesota offers seven levels of Chinese language classes to the general public—from Beginning Chinese 1 to Chinese Rehab, a conversation class for advanced students. The Confucius Institute's Resource Center also stocks a range of travel, phrasebooks, and other China-related materials. For-credit courses are offered by the U of M Department of Asian Languages and Literatures

Funding for Travel to China

China Center Scholarships and Exchanges

The China Center offers scholarships and exchanges to support study abroad and other educational experiences in the Greater China region for University of Minnesota students.

International Travel Grants

The GPS Alliance offers International Travel Grants to faculty and P&A staff to support travel for research or conferences or initial project phases.

Confucius Institute Scholarship

The Confucius Institute Scholarship program was established by Hanban/Confucius Institute Headquarters in order to encourage students and Chinese language teachers all over the world to study Chinese or conduct research regarding Chinese language and culture in China. The Confucius Institute at the University of Minnesota serves as a recommending institute for applicants from Minnesota.

Health and Safety

Student International Travel Registry

Students, graduate assistants, residents, and fellows are required to register their travel through the Student International Travel Registry, which will facilitate completion of the following requirements:

Faculty and Staff International Travel Registry

University policy requires all faculty and staff to register their international travel conducted for University purposes. Faculty and staff are also given the option to obtain University-approved international travel, health, and security insurance (insurance is mandatory for faculty and staff traveling with students).