07/28/2018—08/17/2018

2018年7月28至8月17日,明大培训学院接待了湖北大学和荆楚理工大学的52名本科生及研究生。对大多数学生来说,这是他们第一次来美国大学学习,也是他们第一次访问明尼苏达州。这个为期三周的项目旨在让学生扩大他们的全球化视野,为成为有文化能力的全球化公民做好准备。

这个项目结合了明尼苏达大学教授杰出的教学和丰富多彩的文化活动,以提高学生的学术能力和跨文化素养。学生们参加了各式各样的讲座,其中包括转基因食品、美国电影研究概论和全球公民教育等等,让学生们体验到了不同的美国课堂教学风格。美国食品科学和营养学系的大卫·鲍姆莱教授做了一场关于食品安全的讲座,他将音乐融入教学,给学生们留下了深刻的印象。

在这个为期三周的项目里,学生们还通过各种各样的课外活动,体验美国中西部的文化,如游览苏必利尔湖,在明尼阿波利斯玫瑰花园做志愿者,参观新翻修的明尼苏达州政府大楼等等。这些经历都为他们在明尼苏达州的经历添加了一笔鲜艳的色彩。

其中一个学生在留言里写道:“这段经历是我的学生生涯中最棒的经历之一,我在这里学到的将会影响我的一生……”

 

A group of program participants pose for a photo with their certificates

07/28/2018—08/17/2018

The China Center's Mingda Institute for Leadership Training hosted 52 undergraduate and graduate students from Hubei University and Jingchu University of Technology from July 28 to August 17, 2018. For most of the students, it was their first time studying at a university in the United States and their first time to Minnesota. The three-week program gave students the opportunity to expand their global vision and prepare them to becoming culturally competent global citizens.

The program combined exceptional instruction from University of Minnesota faculty with diverse intercultural activities to expand both the student’s academic ability and cross-cultural literacy. The students attended lectures in a wide range of topics including GMO Food, Introduction to American Film Studies, and Education for a Global Citizen. Students also had the opportunity to experience the different teaching styles used in American classrooms. Professor David Baumler from the Department of Food Science and Nutrition gave an interactive and lively lecture on Food Safety in the U.S. He incorporated music into his teaching and made a huge impression on the Chinese students.

Students also experienced the culture of the American Midwest through a variety of extracurricular activities, including visiting Lake Superior, volunteering with the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board, and touring the newly renovated State Capitol, which added a unique view to their experience in Minnesota.

“This period is one of the most amazing experiences in my student life. What I learned will influence me in the future…” — Yiwen Luo, participant

 

A group of program participants pose for a photo with their certificates