自1914年三位首批中国留学生到明尼苏达大学学习开始,明大与中国有着深远悠久的教育交流历史。目前,来自大中华地区的3000多名学生及学者在明大学习深造。我们与中国的顶尖大学达成研究与交流合作关系,越来越多的明大学生去中国大陆、香港、澳门、台湾等地的知名大学进行学习交流。2009年,明大在北京建立了唯一一个海外办公室,5000多名明大校友居住于大中华地区,明大与中国的联系越来越紧密。

明大中国百年庆典

2014年,明尼苏达大学举办了为期一年的“明大中国百年庆典”活动,以此纪念1914年第一批来到明大的中国留学生,以及后来明大与中国交流的丰硕成果。本次庆典活动旨在弘扬明大与中国教育交流的悠久历史,并展望未来共同发展的美好前景。

中国中心组织了诸多活动来表彰中国校友,并回顾和推广了明大与中国的学术合作和交流。另外中国学生及去过中国的美国学生还有机会讲述他们的经历和故事。

2013年夏,明尼苏达大学校长艾瑞克凯勒博士出访中国,他在香港、上海、北京和台北接待了550余名校友及将要来明大就读的新生,凯勒校长的中国之行拉开了明大中国百年庆典的序幕。

在明大校园,以本次庆典为主题的一系列讲座和接待会吸引了众多参与者,其中包括100余位中国访问学者及他们的导师,还有来自校园及大众社区的250余位各界人士。

2014年1月起,“明大中国百年庆典展”在明尼苏达和中国的多个城市巡展并广受欢迎,展示了明大与中国源远流长的交流与合作。本次展览涵盖了明大与中国交流的多个重要方面,比如教授交流、合作研究、海外学习、艺术文化、以及体育运动等。约4000余人在巡展过程中参观了本次展览。

2014年4月22日,中国中心在McNamara校友中心隆重举办了“明大中国百年庆典论坛:展望未来“。250余人参加了本次活动,明尼苏达州州长Mark Dayton为了纪念本次活动特宣布4月22日为”明尼苏达与中国教育交流日”。本次活动还特别邀请Lawrence Pan做了简短演讲,他是1914年第一位来明大就读的中国留学生潘文炳的孙子。随后,大家观看了一段珍贵的纪录短片,展示了1979年由校董事会主席Wenda Moore带领的第一个明大代表团访问中国时的情景。

做为百年庆典活动的最后环节,2014年10月和12月,中国中心分别在明尼阿波利斯、北京和台北举办了接待会表彰通过提名选拨的杰出华裔校友

The University of Minnesota has a long and deep history with China, starting in 1914 when the first Chinese students enrolled. Today, the U of M community includes more than 3,000 students and scholars from Greater China. We have research and exchange partnerships with some of China's top universities, and in 2009 opened our first international office in Beijing. More than 5,000 of our alumni live in Greater China. University students are studying in Mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan in increasing numbers, while world-renowned university faculty members are working with Chinese researchers to address some of the world’s most pressing problems.

China 100 Celebration

In 2014, the University of Minnesota celebrated "China 100," a yearlong celebration honoring the first students from China and the wealth of connections that have come since. This celebration honored the past and took a look forward at the engagement between the University of Minnesota and China. Several events were planned to honor Chinese alumni, feature University research and connections with China, and share the stories of Chinese students and U.S. students who traveled to China.

The celebration kicked-off in the summer of 2013 when University President Eric Kaler traveled to China, hosting receptions for more than 550 alumni and prospective students in Hong Kong, Shanghai, Beijing, and Taipei.

Back on campus, more than 100 Chinese visiting scholars and their advisers joined in the celebration along with more than 250 people from the general campus community for a series of lectures and receptions.

Beginning in January 2014, the popular China 100 History Exhibit traveled around Minnesota and China, sharing with visitors the rich history between the University and China. The exhibit focused on topics such as faculty exchanges, strategic partnerships, study abroad, arts and culture, and sports. An estimated 4,000 people viewed the exhibit during its run.

The China Center proudly hosted the "China 100 Symposium: U, Minnesota, and China looking forward to the next century" on April 22, 2014, at the McNamara Alumni Center. 250 people helped to make the event a success and Minnesota state Governor Mark Dayton honored the event with the "Minnesota China Education Exchange Day" proclamation. The audience had the special opportunity to hear from Lawrence Pan, the grandson of the first Chinese student Wen Ping Pan to attend the University, and view a short video documentary of the first University delegation to China in 1979, led by Regent Wenda Moore.

In October and December 2014, the University’s China Center hosted closing receptions for the celebration. Distinguished Chinese Alumni were honored in Minneapolis, Beijing, and Taipei, honoring those who had been nominated and selected as part the China 100 celebration.